India-Australia Green Hydrogen Taskforce

On 24 May 2023, India and Australia reiterated a shared ambition on green hydrogen with the exchange of the agreed Terms of Reference for the India-Australia Green Hydrogen Taskforce.

The Taskforce will be comprised of Australian and Indian experts in green hydrogen. It will report to the India-Australia Ministerial Energy Dialogue on trade, commercial and research opportunities between the two countries through the manufacture and deployment of green hydrogen.

The Terms of Reference were signed by Secretary David Fredericks of the Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water and Secretary Bhupinder Singh Bhalla of the Indian Ministry of New and Renewable Energy.

Co-Chairs for the India - Australia Green Hydrogen Taskforce have been appointed, Dr Patrick Hartley from Australia and Dr Ashish Lele from India.

Dr Patrick Hartley is the leader of the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation’s (CSIRO) Hydrogen Industry Mission and has excellent links with Australia’s hydrogen research and business community.

Dr Ashish Lele, is a Senior Vice President & Head, Advanced Materials and Alternative Energy Group, Reliance Industries Limited and currently the Director of CSIR-National Chemical Laboratory, Pune, India.

The Taskforce’s areas of initial focus will be:

  • hydrogen electrolysers
  • production of green hydrogen and fuel cell manufacture
  • supporting infrastructure
  • standards and regulations.

As a key outcome, they will provide advice and recommendations to the Government on opportunities to further the development of the hydrogen industry.

Terms of reference (PDF 302 KB)
Terms of reference (DOCX 24.9 KB)